المنتدى البرلماني حول خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 في المنطقة العربية: أثر كوفيد-19 على تنفيذ أهداف التنمية المستدامة ودور البرلمانات | لجنة الأمم المتحدة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغرب آسيا تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

المنتدى البرلماني حول خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 في المنطقة العربية: أثر كوفيد-19 على تنفيذ أهداف التنمية المستدامة ودور البرلمانات

26
تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر
2020
الموقع: 
Online
نوع الفعالية: 





"تواجه التنمية المستدامة في المنطقة العربية عوائق هيكلية تكاد تكون نفسها بين البلدان العربية الاثنين والعشرين على الرغم من اختلاف مستويات الدخل، والموارد الطبيعية، والملامح السكانية. ويتطلب التحوّل الجذري في المنطقة تذليل هذه العوائق لإطلاق الطاقات الكامنة في الأفراد، وتحويل الالتزام بخطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 إلى واقع."التقرير العربي للتنمية المستدامة 2020

 
ألقت جائحة كوفيد-19 بتحديات إضافية أمام التقدم المتعثر نحو تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة في المنطقة العربية. وفي حين أن مدى الضرر الحاصل من الجائحة قد اختلف من بلد لآخر، فإن أثرها على مختلف الأبعاد الاقتصادية والاجتماعية في المنطقة العربية سيبقى ملموساً لسنوات عدة قادمة. وبالتالي، يجدر أن تتوخى عملية الاستجابة للجائحة الروابط المتداخلة ما بين أبعاد التنمية المستدامة تماشياً مع مبادئ خطة عام 2030.

يتسم بأهمية كبرى دور البرلمانيين في ضمان أن السياسات والتدابير المعتمدة لاحتواء انتشار الوباء والاستجابة لأثره الاقتصادي والاجتماعي تستجيب لاحتياجات وأولويات ناخبيهم وتحمي الفئات الأكثر ضعفاً بينهم. كما أنهم مسؤولون عن الإشراف على عمل الحكومة التنفيذية والتدقيق في استخدام الأموال العامة، حتى لو مُنحت السلطة التنفيذية صلاحيات استثنائية لتسهيل العمل السريع والفعال. لذا فإن دور البرلمانات أثناء الأزمات ضروري لضمان التمسك بالقيم الديمقراطية للحكم، والحفاظ على حقوق المواطنين.
 
وفي هذا الإطار، تنظم الإسكوا بالشراكة مع الاتحاد البرلماني الدولي وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي، المنتدى البرلماني حول خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 في المنطقة العربية: أثر كوفيد-19على تنفيذ أهداف التنمية المستدامة ودور البرلمانات بشكل حدث افتراضي عبر الوب يوم 26 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020. والهدف من المنتدى هو مناقشة دور البرلمانات العربية في الاستجابة للأزمات من منظور خطة عام 2030. وسيوفر منصة افتراضية للبرلمانيين لتبادل الخبرات والدروس المستفادة من جائحة كوفيد-19. ويستند المنتدى إلى أنشطة الإسكوا السابقة في هذا الإطار تحديداً الندوة الإقليمية للبرلمانيين حول خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 المنطقة العربية التي نظمت عام 2017 والمنتدى البرلماني حول خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 في المنطقة العربية الذي نظم عام 2019.

Arab Regional Parliamentary Forum on the 2030 Agenda: Do Parliaments have a role in responding to crisis? Skip to main content

Arab Regional Parliamentary Forum on the 2030 Agenda: Do Parliaments have a role in responding to crisis?

26
November
2020
Location: 
Online
Event Type: 



"Achieving sustainable development in the Arab region faces structural barriers that are often shared among the 22 Arab countries, despite variations in income level, natural resources, and demographic profiles. Transformative change in the Arab region entails dismantling those barriers to unleash the existing potential of its people, and to meet the ambition of its commitment to the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development."Arab Sustainable Development Report 2020

 
The COVID-19 pandemic has brought forth additional challenges to an already faltering progress towards achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in the Arab region. While some Arab countries have been hit harder by the pandemic than others, its impact will be felt in the region for years to come on various socioeconomic dimensions. Therefore, the response needed should recognize the interlinkages between the dimensions of sustainable development as reflected in the guiding principles of the 2030 Agenda.

Parliamentarians have a crucial role to play in ensuring that the policies and measures adopted to contain the spread of the pandemic and respond to its socioeconomic impact are responsive to the needs and priorities of their constituents and protect the most vulnerable amongst them. They are also responsible for overseeing the work of the executive government and scrutinizing the use of public finances, even if the executive authority is granted emergency powers to ensure swift and effective delivery. The role of parliaments during crisis is therefore necessary to ensure that the democratic values of governance are upheld, and the rights of the population are preserved.  
 
Within this context, ESCWA, in partnership with the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) and the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), will organize the Arab Regional Parliamentary Forum on the 2030 Agenda: Do Parliaments have a role in responding to crisis? as an online event on 26 November 2020. It aims to address the role of Arab parliaments in crisis response from the 2030 Agenda lens. It will provide a virtual platform for parliamentarians to exchange experiences and lessons learnt from the COVID-19 pandemic. It will also build on ESCWA’s previous efforts to support Arab parliaments’ contribution to achieving sustainable development, including through organizing the Regional Seminar for Parliamentarians on 2030 Agenda in 2017 and the Arab Region Parliamentary Forum on the 2030 Agenda in 2019.