Press release

25 Jul 2022

ESCWA: Second Cycle of the Digital Arabic Content Award Starts Today

DAC Award e-invite EN

Beirut, 25 July 2022 (ESCWA)--Native Arabic speakers represent 5% of the world population, yet the share of Arabic content on the Internet is less than 3% of total content. To promote the development of good quality digital Arabic content in support of sustainable development, the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) has launched the second cycle of the ESCWA Digital Arabic Content Award (2022-2023), in collaboration with the World Summit Awards (WSA).

The annual Award recognizes quality digital Arabic content products that have a clear impact on society, and sheds light on the benefits of digital technologies and platforms for accelerating progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

“Digital content is instrumental for digital transformation that affects all aspects of sustainable development. It is also vital for narrowing the digital gaps between developed and developing countries, and within the same country,” said Chief of the Innovation Section at ESCWA Nibal Idlebi.

“Through this Award, ESCWA recognizes innovative and purpose-driven digital content in the region to promote best practices and spread their benefits among relevant stakeholders,” added Idlebi.

Applications are open to two categories, institutions and young entrepreneurs.  Institutions may be public or private, academic, civil society or non-governmental. Young entrepreneurs may be from start-ups, teams of young people, or individuals younger than 35; or any company, group or team where at least one of the founding members and the majority of the team is under the age of 35.

"The mission to foster cross-national and regional exchange worldwide has been brought to another level with the second Digital Arabic Content Award, an initiative promoting digital content that contributes to the SDGs. Never has it been more important to support local entrepreneurship for sustainable development, connections and strong positive impact,” Chairman of WSA Peter A. Bruck underscored.

"The Digital Arabic Content Award provides an excellent stage for local content in local language, fostering sustainable knowledge societies. The Arab region has proven over the last years to be a gem in terms of content richness, digital creativity and forward thinking," Bruck added.

Submissions will be evaluated by a jury of regional experts according to the Award rules and conditions, and winners will be announced during the 2023 Arab Forum for Sustainable Development (AFSD), to which they will be invited. Winners in the young entrepreneurs category will also be invited to attend the 2023 WSA global congress, and will benefit from training and mentoring programmes from ESCWA and WSA.

Earlier this year, ESCWA announced the winners of the first cycle of the ESCWA Digital Arabic Content Award in a special ceremony during the AFSD 2022. A jury comprised of digital content experts chose 8 winners out of 100 products submitted by 15 Arab countries.

Submit your products here.


For more information:

- Ms. Maryam Sleiman, Public Information Assistant, +961-81-769-888; email:

- Ms. Rania Harb, Public Information Assistant, +961-70-008-879; email:

For more information:

Related event
arrow-up icon