التنمية ودرء النزاعات - ESCWA
التنمية ودرء النزاعات

التنمية ودرء النزاعات

نشجّع الاستثمار في مؤسسات شاملة ومنيعة من أجل سلام مستدام يعمّ المنطقة.

ألحقت النزاعات المديدة وآثارها غير المباشرة خسائر جسيمة بالتنمية البشرية في الكثير من البلدان العربية، فقوّضت التماسك الاجتماعي، وأزهقت مئات آلاف الأرواح، وحوّلت الملايين إلى نازحين يعتمدون على المساعدات الإنسانية. وأضعفت الحروب قدرة المؤسسات في بلدان النزاع، فبات القطاع العام غير قادر على توفير الخدمات الأساسية مثل الصحة والتعليم والأمن. تفرض هذه العوامل تحديات صعبة على بلدان النزاع وتعوق تحقيق السلام.

تبحث الإسكوا في أثر النزاع على تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة في البلدان العربية بما فيها البلدان الأقل نمواً، وعلى التنمية البشرية على الأجل الطويل، فتقدم لصانعي القرار خيارات في السياسات العامة لإحلال السلام وتذليل العقبات أمام تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة. وتسعى الإسكوا إلى إنعاش البلدان وإحلال السلام فيها، فتيسّر لهذه الغاية حوارات وطنية شاملة تتناول القضايا الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والفنية، كما تخص بالأبحاث أثر الاحتلال الإسرائيلي على دولة فلسطين.

وتقترن هذه التدخلات الموضوعية بدعم فني لتعزيز القدرة المؤسسية في البلدان المعرّضة للمخاطر، بما يتماشى مع الهدف 16 من أهداف التنمية المستدامة. وتعمل الإسكوا على تحديد الثغرات المؤسسية في أولويات التنمية الوطنية، وتحسين التخطيط والتنسيق، وزيادة منعة البلدان، وتخفيف أثر النزاع على التنمية البشرية، وبناء السلام.  

graphical divider
arrow-up icon
تقييم

Resilient development & conflict prevention - ESCWA
Resilient development & conflict prevention

Resilient development & conflict prevention

ESCWA empowers member States to invest in inclusive and resilient institutions for sustainable peace across the region.

Protracted conflict and its spillover effects have had a detrimental impact on human development in several Arab countries. Social cohesion has been undermined. Hundreds of thousands have lost their lives. Millions have been forcibly displaced and are dependent on some form of humanitarian assistance. Wars have also greatly weakened institutional capacity, rendering the public sector unable to provide essential services, such as health, education and security. These factors pose serious challenges for conflict-affected countries to transition to peace.

ESCWA is examining the impact of conflict on the SDGs in Arab countries, including Arab LDCs. It is also analysing the long-term impact of conflict on human development, so as to provide policy options for decision makers to secure peace and achieve the SDGs. To support recovery efforts and transitions towards peace, ESCWA is facilitating several inclusive national socioeconomic and technical dialogues, and examining the impact of the Israeli occupation on the State of Palestine.

These substantive interventions are coupled with technical support to enhance the institutional capacity of fragile countries, in line with SDG 16. Efforts include identifying institutional gaps in national development priorities, ensuring better planning and coordination in spite of fragility, supporting resilience, reversing the impact of conflict on human development, and peacebuilding.

graphical divider
arrow-up icon
Feedback