استدامة الموارد الطبيعية - ESCWA
استدامة الموارد الطبيعية

استدامة الموارد الطبيعية

نعمل على بناء نهج متكامل لإدارة الموارد الطبيعية يتوخى الاستدامة في تأمين احتياجات الإنسان، اليوم وغداً.

يعتمد الإنسان على الموارد الطبيعية لتستمر الحياة. والمنطقة العربية تزخر بثروة من الموارد الطبيعية يستغلها البشر بشكل مفرط ويسيء إدارتها، فتشحّ الموارد وتتدهور البيئة. وتواجه المنطقة تحديات جسيمة أخرى، من نمو سكاني سريع، وانعدام في الأمن الغذائي، وندرة في المياه، وتزايد على طلب الطاقة، وظواهر مناخية متطرفة، وكوارث محدقة، يفاقمها تغيّر المناخ فتمنع المنطقة من المضي على مسار التنمية المستدامة.

تيسّر الإسكوا حصول الدول الأعضاء على موارد معرفية علمية تعتمد عليها في وضع سياسات مستنيرة. وتعمل على وضع نهج متكامل لإدارة الموارد الطبيعية يقوم على التعاون الإقليمي ودون الإقليمي لتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة.  

وتعطي الإسكوا الأولوية في عملها لوضع وتنفيذ استراتيجيات تتوخى الاستدامة في توفير الموارد المائية، والكفاءة في الممارسات الزراعية، وحلولاً مستنبطة من الطبيعة، ومصادر للطاقة المتجددة، لتأمين احتياجات الأجيال الحالية والمستقبلية، وعدم إهمال أحد. 

وتتيح الإسكوا منبراً محايداً لحوار حول التنمية المستدامة يشمل قطاعات عدة وييسّر التكامل بينها، لوضع سياسات مستنيرة بالعلوم، ودعم بناء المؤسسات. 

graphical divider
arrow-up icon
تقييم

Natural resource sustainability - ESCWA
Natural resource sustainability

Natural resource sustainability

ESCWA works with its member States on building an integrated approach for the management of natural resources to sustainably meet the needs of current and future generations.

Human beings’ dependence on natural resources to sustain life on Earth cannot be overstated. The Arab region is endowed with a wealth of natural resources that is being over exploited and poorly managed, triggering critical scarcities and widespread environmental degradation. The region is also facing significant challenges of population growth, food insecurity, water scarcity, rising energy demand, extreme weather events and disasters risks, which are exacerbated by the impact of climate change, and are preventing the region from embarking on a sustainable development path.

ESCWA provides technical assistance to its member States in accessing science-based knowledge resources to support informed policymaking. By promoting regional and subregional cooperation around the Sustainable Development Goals, ESCWA is building an integrated approach for the management of natural resources.

ESCWA priority working areas include developing and implementing sustainable strategies for reliable water supplies, efficient agricultural practices, nature-based solutions, renewable energy sources, and energy efficient consumption so as to meet the needs of current and future generations, leaving no one behind.

ESCWA also promotes a neutral platform for cross-sectoral dialogue on sustainable development based on an enhanced science policy interface, by ensuring coherence across sectors and fostering institution building.

graphical divider
arrow-up icon
Feedback