الطاقة - ESCWA

الطاقة

تزويد الاقتصادات العربية بحلول الطاقة المستدامة التي تتيح تحقيق النمو الاجتماعي والاقتصادي، مع حماية المناخ وضمان كوكب وبيئة صحيّين للأجيال القادمة، هو أولوية حاسمة لكن صعبة بالنسبة للمنطقة. 

تسعى الإسكوا جاهدة إلى تسريع عملية الانتقال إلى نظم جديدة وعادلة للطاقة المستدامة، مصمَّمة خصيصاً لتلبية الاحتياجات الوطنية والعالمية في سياق خطة عام 2030. 

Solar panels at sunrise. Photo: iStock.

وتقدّم الإسكوا خدمات بناء القدرات المؤسسية والمساعدة الفنية للدول الأعضاء في مجال إدارة موارد الطاقة ونُظم الطاقة. وتشجّع تعزيز الربط بين شبكات الكهرباء وتوسيع شبكات الغاز، وتعمل على النهوض بالآليات الإقليمية للتعاون في مجال الطاقة، لإتاحة الطاقة الحديثة والمستدامة والميسورة الكلفة والموثوقة للجميع. 

وفي إطار المبادرة الإقليمية لتعزيز تطبيقات الطاقة المتجددة صغيرة السعة في المناطق الريفية في المنطقة العربية (REGEND)، تسعى الإسكوا إلى تحسين سبل العيش، وتحقيق مكاسب اقتصادية في المجتمعات الريفية، ولا سيما بين الفئات المهمشة، وتعزيز الدمج الاجتماعي والمساواة بين الجنسين. 

وترمي المبادرة إلى تلبية الاحتياجات من الطاقة، وإظهار فعالية النهج القائم على التشاور مع المستفيدين في تحقيق النتائج، وذلك من خلال التصدي للفقر في مجال الطاقة، وندرة المياه، والتأثّر بتغير المناخ، وسائر تحديات الموارد الطبيعية. وتشجّع الإسكوا الاستثمارات المراعية للفقراء، باستخدام تكنولوجيات وتطبيقات الطاقة المتجددة الصغيرة السعة الملائمة لتيسير الأنشطة الإنتاجية وتحفيز ريادة الأعمال.

arrow-up icon
Feedback

Energy - ESCWA

Energy

Equipping Arab economies with sustainable energy solutions that enable socioeconomic growth, while protecting the climate and ensuring a healthy planet and environment for future generations, is a crucial yet challenging priority for the region.

ESCWA strives to accelerate the transition to new sustainable and fair energy systems, tailored to national and global needs within the context of the 2030 Agenda.

Solar panels at sunrise. Photo: iStock.

ESCWA provides institutional capacity-building and technical assistance to member States on energy resource management and energy systems, encourages the expansion of electricity grid interconnections and gas networks, and promotes regional energy cooperation mechanisms to achieve access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all.

Within the framework of the Regional Initiative for Promoting Small-Scale Renewable Energy Applications in Rural Areas of the Arab Region (REGEND), ESCWA aims to improve livelihoods, achieve economic benefits in rural communities, particularly among marginalized groups, and promote social inclusion and gender equality.

REGEND seeks to satisfy energy needs and showcase the effectiveness of the bottom-up approach in achieving results by addressing energy poverty, water scarcity, vulnerability to climate change and other natural resources challenges. Pro-poor investment are promoted using appropriate small-scale renewable energy technologies and applications to facilitate productive activities and stimulate entrepreneurial development.

arrow-up icon
Feedback